Oven-Roasted Brown Sugar Chicken

Oven-Roasted Brown Sugar Chicken

Tonight for dinner, Chris decided it would be a good idea to have chicken…and for me to cook it entirely by myself. As you can imagine, I was a bit intimidated by the thought of preparing a meal on my ownfrom start to finished, raw to fully-cookedbut I was up for the challenge. Although I was nervous, the meal turned out pretty well! In this post, I will share with you the recipe I used to cook these (admittedly delicious) chicken thighs. 

The recipe for this chicken was inspired by one that Chris’s mom made him when he was growing up. She used brown sugar, butter, and a mix of Italian spices to create a wonderfully sweet and golden crust. Here is our take on her recipe (for three chicken thighs): 
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 3 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon thyme 
  • 1 teaspoon sage
  • A pinch of salt
  • A pinch of pepper
Preheat the oven to 450° F. First, I rubbed each thigh with butter. Next, I rubbed each chicken thigh with salt and pepper on the bottom, top, and under the skin. Next, I liberally rubbed the brown sugar into each thigh (again, on the top, bottom, and under the skin). Finally, I sprinkled the thyme and sage on the top of the thigh and under the skin. Cook chicken in oven for 30 minutes, or until skin is a perfect shade of dark golden brown. 
This chicken was delicious! Chris made it five days ago, and I simply recreated it tonight. I was more liberal with my use of the brown sugar, and Chris said that although he was skeptical at first, he loved it! On the side, I served oven-roasted zucchini and pan-fried tofu with soy sauce and sesame oil. Overall, tonight’s meal was so tasty, if I do say so myself! Naturally, we spent our dinner watching the latest episode of MasterChefI’m rooting for Claudia!
I am so proud for not burning this meal for the first time, and I can’t wait to try more recipes! Now that we are living off-campus, I need to learn how to really cook for myself (a girl can only eat grilled cheese sandwiches for so long). 
xo
Leave a Reply

