Saturday Brunch

Saturday Brunch

This morning, Chris and I took the bus to State Street to have breakfast! We didn’t know exactly where we wanted to go, but as we were walking toward the ocean we kept noticing Mexican restaurants, and Chris decided that he really wanted to eat at one of them. Since it was just past 10:00 AM, many of them were not yet open! Luckily, right near Stearn’s Warf, we stumbled across Casa Blanca, and our dining experience was everything we had hoped for.


We sat on the outdoor patio underneath these lovely yellow umbrellas, which soon came in handy as the summer rain creeped up on us. Because the restaurant served brunch, I was able to get breakfast food and Chris was able to order a more lunch-y dish! I ordered the Casa Blanca omeletteβ€”hands down, this was one of the best omelettes I have ever tasted. It had jack cheese, mushrooms, spinach, tomatoes, and bacon (SO MUCH BACON), and it was topped with avocado slices and queso fresco. Chris ordered a combination platter with a steak soft taco, a pork tamale, and a cup of tortilla soup (which he claims is the best tortilla soup he has ever had). The prices were pretty reasonable, and definitely worth it.

After brunch, we walked across the street to Backyard Bowls!
This is one of our favorite places in Santa Barbara; we would recommend it to anyone who loves fruit, smoothies, or healthy eats. Before we ordered our food, we peeked inside the chocolate shop next door. I wanted to buy a truffle, but I was so stingy with my money that I couldn’t bring myself to do it. At Backyard Bowls, Chris ordered a Brasil Bowl and I ordered the Cocoa Acai smoothie. We were both pleased with our orders, but next time we will probably stick with our usual Island Bowl. Sometimes ordering what you like most brings the best results. We walked back up State Street and sat on a bench eating for a little while before peeking in a few stores and then returning home. Here are a few photos!
Of course we took a few snapchats πŸ˜›

 

What a sweet boyfriend ❀

 

The trees near our bench! Sometimes I wish those lights could be on all the time…

We had a lovely date this morning! Now I am writing this post while Chris takes a little cat nap. I have some leftover omelette, so maybe I will take a bite…hehehe πŸ™‚

xo
B

 

Leave a Reply

