Sunset Musings III: New

Sunset Musings III: New

Sunset is my favorite time of day, especially during the summer. It is a time for reflection when the day is coming to a close, turning the sky a milky blue, allowing for reflection. Chris and I took a walk to the shore to watch the sunset during high tide, his face turning the same beautiful shade of gold, the delightful color remaining in the west as the sun took its deep, daily dip. Some days feel endless, others seem to zip by so fast I don’t even have time to think about what I am eating for dinnerbut I never fail to think about the sunset, and I never forget to give it at least one quick glance before its through and I have to wait another cycle of a day to see the next one.

My new favorite picture… 🙂

There is something so comforting about a reset, or knowing that every evening can be the beginning of a new phase of life. When the yellow beams of light are no longer covering my path with their buttery warmth, there is a time of solitude. I can use this time every evening to my advantage: productivity, or maybe relaxation, can occur. I can spend the time with a mix of darkness and artificial light to recharge, regroup, and rethink. And in an hours-long blink of an eye, it is a new day, a new start, a new phase in this long chapter called “2015: The Year of New Beginnings.”

This year has been full of “new.” I realize “new” is not normally a noun, but in this instance, it is. So far in 2015, I have gotten new opportunities, new celebrations, new life, new habits and the breaking of old ones (though I still nervously pick my nails; I won’t ever stop that, I’m convinced). New is a great feeling this year. New means bright, it means change but also hope. If my world were to be described in one word, it would be new. Interpret that how you wish.

And 2015 will continue to be new! A new year at school, a new apartment, a new job, a new language, a new countrysome may call it overwhelming, but I am beyond excited… and okay, yes, overwhelmed, but confident. That is something Chris has always told me to be: confident. He is the most confident person I know. I can only hope it is rubbing off on me, but I digress.

The sunset is the time for a new start. Some say it is the sunrise, but every ending is only a new beginning. As the sun dove into the depth of the ocean, sliding gracefully down into the inverted bowl where indigo sky meets indigo sea, Chris and I walked up the steps back home. But the sun wasn’t gone; we carried it with us and lead it into the fresh nighttime air.

xo

B

Leave a Reply

