August Update: Summer Recap and Fall Goals

August Update: Summer Recap and Fall Goals

Hello, everyone! I have had a lovely summer so far, and with two thirds of it being over, I thought it would be a good idea to post an update about what I have been up to for the past two months, as well as my goals for the upcoming season.

This summer has been filled with so many adventures. We went to Disneyland last month and had a spectacular time showing Chris’s cousin, Aaron, all of the sights. We have gone downtown and tried numerous new restaurants, and we also visited my family twice! Last weekend, we went to the county fair, and it was so much fun seeing Chris take in everything that I have experienced since living in Ventura. This past week, I have begun to really start planning my essential things to pack when we travel to Taiwan with Chris’s family. We have so many things to look forward to!

Speaking of which, we will be spending our Saturday on the pier eating delicious seafood and watching the waves. I am so excited! Having a little pier date is something Chris and I have been wanting to do for a while, and I am sure I will take plenty of pictures for the next “Weekend Wrap-Up.” We plan to eat at Santa Barbara Fishing Co., so I will let you know how we like it!

Additionally, I made whole grain strawberry oat muffins last night! I think they are pretty delicious. Chris thinks I could have added more sugar, and while I was trying to be super healthy, I think I could have added more too. πŸ˜› Also, I plan to try out a new recipe this weekend! This shrimp and veggie pesto pasta looks scrumptious, and Chris is excited about it too, especially since we have been wanting to make shrimp for so long.

As far as goals go, here are a few:

  • I want to really try to exercise more. I have been making it a point this month to exercise at least once a week, and while that seems like not that much, I think it will make a difference!Β 
  • I also want to make sure I don’t get too stressed during the first quarter of my third year in college. I have a tendency to put too much on my plate and then let my fear of failing get the best of me, and I want to make sure that I set a good example for the rest of Ed. Board by staying collected, even when things get a little rough or difficult to handle.Β 
  • I want to stay organized! Typically I am a pretty organized person, but I don’t want to let this impending busy schedule of mine hinder my performance. An organized life is a happy life (or at least, it couldn’t hurt).Β 
  • I want to become a better cook! I can make basic things, but I want to get really good at it. And I want to start making bulk meals too! I think this will save me money because I will get to pack leftovers for lunch all the time, while also allowing me a break every couple days.Β 

Through all of this, I am so grateful for Chris. He has remained my strongest supporter over the past 15 months, and I honestly have no idea what I did in life to get this lucky. A final Β goal for this fall is to make sure he is just as happy as I am (although that may be hard to beat!).

Simply put, I have had a great summer, and (with effort and determination) I will have a great fall. Hope the same goes for the rest of my readers! Leave a comment with a favorite summer memory and something you are looking forward to, near or far.

xo

B

Leave a Reply

