Bailee Takes Taiwan: Travel Essentials (So Far!)

Bailee Takes Taiwan: Travel Essentials (So Far!)

Hi everyone! With my upcoming trip to Taiwan this winter, I have begun thinking about what I want to bring. There are so many things that come to mind when I think of travel essentials (especially after reading Backpacks and Blackboards’s super helpful packing list), but very few that I realize I actually need to bring with me. So, I have narrowed it down to the top six things I think I should bring on my trip. Here they are!

1. A windbreaker.

Thunderstorms are currently on the horizon for Taipei, and while I can’t be too sure what the weather will be like this winter, so given the unpredictability I think a windbreaker should definitely be an essential. I bought mine over the summer at Wal-Mart for around $14. Normally I don’t buy clothes at Wal-Mart, but as a college student on a budget, I definitely swoop on any deal I can. The windbreaker is black, lightweight, hooded, and (the best part) can be tightened at the waist. Rain or shine, this light jacket will come in handy.

Tip: purchase jackets one size larger! This way, you can wear big sweaters underneath and still feel comfy.

2. My Macbook Pro.

While I wouldn’t normally consider bring a computer on a vacation, I want to make sure I can write blog posts about every destination, as well as Facetime my family. Therefore, this laptop will definitely be my late night and early morning BFF.

3. Lip balm.

My recent favorite is the EOS lip balm in honeydew melon. It tastes light a fruity and does a great job at moisturizing my lips. The best part? It is so large and oddly shaped that I can always find it in my purse or backpack! I have heard that airplanes are very dry, so this will keep my lips from getting gross and chapped.

4. Moisturizer.

As we are getting into the depths of fall, my skin has been terribly dry. It is awful! So I have been using the Trader Joes Nourish Moisturizer. It is lightweight, can be worn under makeup, and I never forget to apply it before bed. I will definitely be bringing this in a travel container. Who knows how my skin will react to the weather in Taiwan?

5. Mascara.

I will probably bring a small makeup bag with me (upcoming blog post to come), but mascara is my number one product. The Covergirl Super Sizer mascara separates my lashes while making them nice and thick with just one or two coats. If I don’t wear any other makeup, I’ll definitely look more awake while wearing this.

6. Booties.

You can never go wrong with a pair of tan booties! I have had these Sam and Libby ones from Target for around a year, and they are still going strong. They are broken in perfectly and go with any outfit — skirts/dresses with tights, skinny jeans, you name it! Plus they are super comfortable to walk in, which is a must, Chris tells me, because we will be doing a LOT of walking in Taiwan.

Thanks for reading! Please let me know what your travel essentials are, especially for tropical winter climates.

xo,

B

8 thoughts on “Bailee Takes Taiwan: Travel Essentials (So Far!)

  1. Ooh, fun! I've never been to Taiwan, and I'm happy that where I live, it won't get below 75 degrees this winter, but it sounds like a smart idea to pack appropriately for the weather!

    Like

  2. Hi Joy! For me, I love EOS lipbalm because of its simplicity. Aside from the delicious flavor, I find that it is thicker and less glossy than most chapsticks, so it leaves my lips with a lingering moisturizing sensation rather than a temporary gloss. Also, as stated above, its is always super easy to find in my bag because of its packaging, which I think is a huge plus!

    P.S.: just checked our your blog and sent you a message. Love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

