the importance of loving

the importance of loving

 

As a new day begins on the golden coast, a fresh cup of coffee meeting my lips to give me a sip every couple minutes, I reflect on the past few weeks–the past few years–of my life and smile.

The world can be a harsh place. There will be people who want to tear you down and cause you strife, people who do not want to see you succeed.

But there will also be people who lift you up, even if they don’t realize they are doing it. There will be people who love you unconditionally, who don’t see the flaws you see, or who maybe see them but don’t care or don’t think they’re flaws at all.

And through my reflections on this cloudy Monday I have an idea that permeates my brain, one that I want to share and that I want everyone to hear.

The most important gift we can give someone is love. Through life’s ups and downs and ins and outs, we must always remember to love one another, to tell one another that we love them. We must always speak up and make sure someone knows when we are happy and sad, hurting, angry, overjoyed, or ecstatic. We should share these things with one another.

I was speaking to a friend last night about her feelings and what she is going through, and during that time I couldn’t help but remember the moments in life when I felt similar things. And I wanted more than anything for her to feel peace. And I know that I will be here for her when she does not.

Through all your pain and suffering, I wish you strength. Through all your hopeless moments, I wish you love. 

As I continue to write this post, I smile. I smile at the times when I laughed uncontrollably with my best friend, when E and I spent our nights talking for hours on end about boys or classes or our high school lives, when just yesterday I ate some of the best yellow curry chicken with some dear people in my life.

I smile because these are the days I will always remember. These are the days worth smiling for.

I love life. I hope you do too.

 

xo

B

Leave a Reply

