A Tuesday Date With Myself

A Tuesday Date With Myself

After a (somewhat) busy yesterday preceded by a hectic Sunday move-out, I knew I wanted to take this Tuesday for myself. I slept in as late as I wanted, made myself a delicious lunch, brewed a cup of my favorite Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf passion tea, and relaxed in my room. Eventually, I decided to take myself on a date to Barnes and Noble, which ended up being lovely (and much longer than I anticipated).

IMG_2726
I WISH I had bought one of these cheesecakes! Next time for sure 🙂

I drove my dad’s old Jeep to my favorite hometown bookstore this afternoon. I was greeted by the smell of fresh paper as I opened the glass doors and strolled to the cafe. I ordered a chai tea latte, drank a small sample of a delicious s’mores frappacino, and took the escalator upstairs to find my latest read.

IMG_2728
Wearing my new sandals from Target 🙂

I came to the store in search of a fantasy novel, and I found so many books that interested me! I have been wanting to read Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham — which is not fantasy at all but totally up my alley — and I grabbed that along with a Japanese fantasy novel and a couple others. I narrowed it down to these two, and was about to purchase them, but while I walked toward the escalator down, I found the “Local Authors” table. I had no idea this was even a thing! Ventura has local authors, what?!

IMG_2729
I browsed the Manga section and found a Japanese novel called Spice and Wolf! I will be buying the kindle version though, since the only copy I found was all scuffed up 😦
IMG_2731
Spent some time in a cozy chair reading the first chapters of each of the books that caught my eye 🙂

The “Local Authors” table had a fantasy series called His Fair Assassin, with the first book entitled Grave Mercy. These books are written by Robin LaFevers, and I browsed her website while flipping through the first novel in the series. She seems like such an interesting woman, and who wouldn’t want to buy a fantasy novel from a local novelist? This is amazing!

IMG_2732
I even bought a signed copy!

The best part of the entire experience is that I bought this book even after looking all over. It felt like fate, like this series somehow found me! I know it is a little silly to think that a book could just come to you, but as a reader and a writer myself, I believe in fate and I most definitely believe this was it.

Taking myself on this date was honestly so wonderful. I love my family and my friends and boyfriend, but I think this summer will really teach me the value in being alone. I used to always spend time alone at Barnes and Noble in high school, and it was so enjoyable to tap back into that part of myself this afternoon.

I also want to start doing book reviews on this blog, so once I finish this book I think it will be my first review!

Thank you for reading, and if you did, please leave me a comment below! I truly value feedback and my readers, wherever and whoever you are. 🙂

Lots of love,

Bailee

2 thoughts on “A Tuesday Date With Myself

Leave a Reply

