My Selfies Are (Not Necessarily) For Your Liking

My Selfies Are (Not Necessarily) For Your Liking

Why are we shamed for feeling confident about ourselves? 

Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t post photos on Instagram to get likes. Sure, some people post photos to get a reaction, maybe to show off whatever it is they are doing, and that’s fine! There is absolutely nothing wrong with posting something for others to see. If you are confident enough to post something because you want to show others what you are up to, then more power to you.

But for me, I use Instagram as an online photo album. I upload photos so that I can scroll back and look at whatever I was up to and how I felt about it. I have had Instagram since my senior year of high school, and now, going into my senior year of college, I am so happy to still have access to all those photos I used to post, everything I had experienced and shared.

I am so happy to still have access to all those photos I used to post, everything I had experienced and shared.

That being said, I appreciate getting likes as much as the next person, but they aren’t something that boosts my confidence. So if I post a selfie on Instagram and I notice that it gets maybe 20 less likes than a photo that a random stranger took of my boyfriend and I, do I get insecure? No way! And this is why:

My selfies are not necessarily for your liking. And that is 100% okay with me. 

In a world where women are told to feel ashamed for being confident, where we are called “conceited” for thinking we are pretty and where we are told that not thinking we are beautiful is what makes us beautiful (I’m looking at you, 1D), posting a selfie isn’t always widely accepted. But if a woman posts a photo of herself because she got a promotion at work or she finished her finals, should she be shamed for it? Absolutely not. So why should a woman feel weird or ashamed for posting a photo simply because she feels beautiful–simply because she is beautiful?

In a world where women are told to feel ashamed for being confident… posting a selfie isn’t always widely accepted.

My social media accounts are for my own personal enjoyment, and posting selfies takes a hell of a lot more courage than an oversaturated photo of the French toast you ordered at brunch. Having the courage to show the world that you love yourself and feel confident about how you look is amazing and absolutely nothing to feel worried about. We shouldn’t ever feel as though we are not good enough or not liked enough to post pictures of ourselves online.

So post that selfie…or don’t. What you choose to publish online is your choice, and you have every right not to have your decision impacted by how much likes you may or may not get, or what people may think about your confidence. My Instagram feed is filled with photos that make me smile when I look back at them. And if a selfie makes me happy, well, so be it.

 

Leave a Reply

