Book Review: ‘Of Poseidon’ by Anna Banks

Book Review: ‘Of Poseidon’ by Anna Banks

This summer, I have rekindled my love for fantasy and began reading the Syrena Legacy series. And it has not disappointed me! I am currently reading the second book, but I figured I would write up a quick review of the first book, Of Poseidon. 

Of Poseidon is a young adult contemporary fantasy novel that follows the story of Emma, a high school senior who turns out to be not exactly who she believes she is. She meets a boy named Galen on the beach during the summer before her senior year, and what she believes to be an awkward first interaction quickly turns into a friendship…sort of. I do not want to write too much without spoiling the story, but I will say this: mermaids.

Now you may be surprised, especially considering the currently trending teen girls obsession with wanting to be a mermaid, but there really aren’t as many fantasy novels about mermaids out there (or at least, none that I’ve found). So when I was browsing for a new fantasy novel that still had a contemporary, summer-y feel to it, I stumbled upon this one and knew I had to get it.

The writing is fresh, witty, and enjoyable. While it isn’t an Atwood novel in its prose or an Austen in its ability to become a classic, it gives the reader a fresh take on a fantastical creature in a way that is smooth and easygoing. It is an easy book to get through — you won’t be jumping through hoops just to figure out what is going on — but that doesn’t underestimate its captivating and breathtaking abilities. If you like a novel that feels very contemporary but also packs a punch in its suspenseful twists, then this is definitely the one for you. I would also recommend this novel to anyone who doesn’t think they like fantasy, or anyone who is just starting to get into the genre. The reader transitions into the fantastical elements of the novel just as the main character, Emma, transitions into the new elements of her life as she discovers them.

Let me know if you want to know more, and comment if you have any other fantasy and/or contemporary reads to recommend!

xo

Bailee

2 thoughts on “Book Review: ‘Of Poseidon’ by Anna Banks

Leave a Reply

