Book Recommendations for the Wandering Soul

Book Recommendations for the Wandering Soul

Hello, my readers! I hope you are all having a lovely Sunday. Greetings to anyone who is new, and if you are a long-time follower of my blog, thanks for stopping by again!

Today I want to write to you about a few nonfiction book recommendations for anyone who needs a pick-me-up for their soul. As a writer and a reader, I try to spend some time every day (or as often as I can) to read or journal, and I find that having a book to guide me through my thoughts, my mornings, or my late night writings definitely helps. So here are a few books that I recommend to anyone who needs a new read.

The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

This book was a rock for me during a perplexing time of my junior year of college. It was the middle of winter and there were quite a few changes in my life — quite literally, because I had to move into a temporary apartment while my plumbing was getting repaired for almost a month. I was having some trouble in my work environment and I was still trying to figure out my academic priorities, so this book really helped me center my thoughts. It is a quick read if you choose to go through it that way, but I preferred to take some time every night before bed to read a short section or chapter. Then in the mornings with my coffee, I would take some time to journal and do my morning pages. I found that sleeping after reading a topic in The Four Agreements and then meditating on it first thing in the morning helped me center my thoughts and was a great way to start the day.

Light is the New Black by Rebecca Campbell

This is a book that is perfect for anyone feeling lost. Although I am hardly finished with it, I just felt the need to recommend it to you all. This book has so far helped me change my perspective and really evaluate what I value and follow in life. I try to read it every day, mostly in the mornings, and I write down my thoughts and quotes that spark my interest in my journal as I go. The words have sparked so many short essays and poems for me — writing is how I process my own thoughts and world so it is so refreshing to find a book that allows me to honor that.

Thank you for reading this short post! I truly hope my blurbs about each of these books has helped you in some way. Please let me know if you have any recommendations for what I should read next! If you are interested in me writing a blog post about my morning pages or how I journal, please let me know by emailing or commenting.

Love,

Bailee

 

2 thoughts on “Book Recommendations for the Wandering Soul

Leave a Reply

