Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Jackson Hole, Wyoming

This September, I joined my boyfriend’s family and travelled to Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming. What an adventure it was! I have never explored national parks before, so this was a real treat. This post is dedicated to my time in Jackson Hole, one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.

I swear, the air here was just cleaner. As someone who struggles with allergies, I often find more comfort inside than out in nature, but that doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate it when I get a chance to do so. As a young girl my family would take vacations to Lake Tahoe a couple summers in a row, and multiple times a year we would go camping in our pop-up tent trailer. But this experience in Wyoming was something entirely different.

We stayed at a hotel that had a lobby straight out of a storybook. I absolutely loved it!

The air was crisp and the sky was so blue. We took a stroll through the town of Jackson Hole and I felt like I was in a movie. There was country music playing everywhere, hunting merchandise, and a ton of huckleberry products. We ended up buying some chocolate covered huckleberries to try and they were pretty tasty!

We spent our second day in Jackson Hole hiking around Jenny Lake. We stopped by the visitor center before the hike and watched an informational video. This is something we did when we visited Taroko National Park in Taiwan, and I always think it is so fun to learn about the history and animals of the park before you explore it.

 

We even saw some animals on this day! We say pronghorn antelope on the side of the road. Seeing animals like this made me feel like we were on some sort of safari or in an animal park.

It was so chilly that we had to bundle up, but it was so amazing! I love being with Chris in nature — it feels so nice to be with your best friend while adventuring around the world together.

We hiked all the way through the trail in the forest to the hidden falls, but they were hidden quite literally by trees, so I couldn’t snap a good picture. But the experience was so awesome, even though the hike back to the car was tiresome.

On the second day we drove out of Jackson Hole but stopped on the northern edge of Jenny Lake to walk for a bit. This was the first day when we saw snow! I do not often visit the snow, so I thought this was just an awesome experience.

Little did I know that we would see even more snow (and animals!!) once we got to Yellowstone! But I will save that story for another post.

Thanks for reading! Where should I travel next? Chris and I are trying to plan our spring break and/or post-grad vacation, so email or comment some tips or destinations you recommend!

 

One thought on “Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Leave a Reply

