Day 2

Day 2

Today was such a good day. It began with me waking up next to Chris like I always do, crawling out of bed at 7:30, putting on my glasses, and brewing my coffee. The creamer I am currently using is vanilla caramel and it tastes like a glorious Starbucks creation from heaven, oh my goodness it’s so good. After this I moved to my room where I sat at my desk and watched YouTube videos while I woke up. This is a very usual morning ritual for me. For a while I was journaling first thing in the morning, but I am doing it at night now and I like that a lot too. I also had some time to study for my Chinese quiz before I got ready for class, so that was a plus.

I love waking up early. Mornings have become one of my favorite times of the day. I love being able to have my time to myself, alone with my thoughts or escaping into something that inspires me. I love having time to study or get some work done before class. I have class at 10 am every day, so waking up at 7:30 is the perfect time for me.

I only had one class today, so I had plenty of time to get some reading done, and it was great! For my African American Literature class, I am reading Jonah’s Gourd Vine by Zora Neale Hurston and I am really enjoying it so far. I will let you know how I like it once I am done. I am about halfway through with it now.

I have also started going back to the gym, and I feel so good tonight! I ran 2.5 miles on the treadmill and that was great. I had a smoothie after and I am about to go make a delicious bowl of cereal with rice milk! I think rice milk is my new favorite nondairy milk. It is so creamy and delicious!!

I feel like every day I learn a little more about myself and life and the world around me. Today I was talking to Chris and I told him about the quote I heard recently: “In life, things do not happen to you, but for you.” This really got me thinking and it was great to talk to Chris about it. It really is an amazing way to look at things. Sometimes I think I get into this habit of feeling defeated or like a victim when “bad things happen to me,” and I get so down on myself. But in reality, everything in life is a lesson and we can learn from every single day.

That’s all I have for now! I think I could write a ton more but I am feeling pretty tired, so I will eat some cereal, shower, and then read Beowulf before bed. It’s going to be a nice night.

Leave a Reply

