Day 14

Day 14

I believe I have always been in love. I can’t quite remember when it happened, but I do know that the connection was there ever since I was a very young child. I have always been in love with words.

Writing and reading have always fascinated me. They are always what I say whenever someone asks of my hobbies, but I consider them to be more than that. Words have been such a large influence in my life that they are a part of me. They are the reason why I was simply meant to be an English literature major all along. They are the reason why I can’t seem to clear my mind most days because it is filled with so many poetic rivers of thought — how can you just silence that artful noise?

My love for words blooms even more this time of year. In autumn I walk around campus and write poems in my head about the sound of every crunching leaf and the taste of my spicy chai tea. My eyes dance across the pages of the novels I read for my classes and my hands forcefully grip my pens as I messily scrawl romantic thoughts into my journals.

Words are something that I am just so passionate about. I can hardly stand it! When I was younger I would always hope to be happy in the future in whatever discipline or career it may be. And I can truly say that now. And I know that no matter what happens down the road, I did something really awesome by following my passion and studying it for years in undergrad. You have to admit, it is really cool to get a degree in love. Because that’s what it feels like to me.

I heard someone say that if you have a passion, you must share it with someone, whether it is one person over text or a thousand people online. So I suppose that is what I am trying to do.

So if you are reading this, whether I know you or not, thank you. Because it means you want to read about what I love so much. Today and every day, I am grateful for you.

Leave a Reply

