Day 22

Day 22

Today my parents visited!!!

It was so awesome to spend time with my mom, dad, and brother today. Even though I am still fighting off a cold, it was so nice to see them. They brought me a whole bunch of kitchen and household goodies from Target (we don’t have a Target in SB, so I miss it a lot!) and they took Chris and I out to brunch.

For brunch we ate at Lilly’s Tacos!! It was so good. Chris and I went there for the first time a few weeks ago and I knew my family would love it. It is such a famous place here in Santa Barbara, but for some reason we have just ever tried it until this year! We all got tacos and talked and just spent time together. After we went grocery shopping and then Chris and I got dropped off at our apartment.

Something that is so adorable when my parents come up is that they almost always wear UCSB merch. They all wear t-shirts that say “UCSB *insert family relationship name here*” and I think it is so cheesy but so adorable at the same time. I know that I will be buying them even more UCSB things this Christmas because I need to take advantage of it while I can!

I love it when my family visits. It is so nice for them to see where I live and for us to spend some time together in the town where I have been going to school for these past three years. I know that I can never take these moments for granted because sooner or later, I will be graduating!

Having my family visit has become such a wonderful thing to look forward to every quarter. Usually, I will come home once and my family will visit once, or more if they can. And this is often perfect. I think now that I am older I have gotten used to being away from family for longer periods of time, but it seems as though when I am stressed or sick or tired or burnt out, I just want to see my family. I think also that I have grown to appreciate them so much since being away at college. I call my dad nearly every day for a few minutes each day, and I call my mom a few times a week and we talk for 20 (and sometimes even 45!) minutes at a time. And I hold these moments and conversations so dear to my heart, even if we call when I am stressing out. My parents have always stressed the importance of having family in your life, and this is something I have never forgotten.

I truly am so thankful to have my mom, dad, and brother, and I am so thankful that they get along with Chris just wonderfully. I can’t wait to see them again, but I know that now that we visited today, I will be able to make it a few more weeks! Can’t wait to be home for Thanksgiving, even if I will be doing schoolwork some of the time.

 

Leave a Reply

