Day 30

Day 30

Today I am thankful for the UCSB English Department.

At my school, the English Department is a very tight-knit community. There are only a few hundred of us so it is super common to run into people all the time, and to constantly know familiar faces in multiple classes.Β But today was especially remarkable because I had a wonderful office hours session with my medieval English TA.

I have grown to appreciate office hours over the years, and today was just fantastic. I spoke with my TA about ideas for my paper and he was so receptive and complemented me on the claims I plan on making! And he was so helpful and gave me ideas for developing my thesis, which was just fantastic.

And I just love this TA because I had him as my writing instructor during my freshman year of college, AND he was a guest lecturer in an upper division course I took last year. He recognized me on the first day of class and whenever he takes attendance he just says “Bailee’s here” — I don’t even have to raise my hand!! I know this is so small but I just really love it when teachers truly want to know you and make an effort to remember you. It makes the learning experience so much better.

It is days like today when I know I will truly miss my school after I graduate. Gotta make the most of the rest of this year.

Leave a Reply

