Day 33

Day 33

Ahh…there are few things better than the feeling of sinking into your sheets after a long day.

And today was one of those long days. Not long in a bad way, but in a good way–in a way that truly made me happy to exist here at my university, in this town. I went to class and spent many hours at the library working on my thesis. I went grocery shopping with Chris and Sabrina and picked up so many delicious foods that I am so excited to get to cook this week. I cooked with my friends and talked and laughed. And I felt so happy the entire time.

I remember when I was a high school senior, I would sometimes think about what college would be like. How I would be and what I would be doing. But I never would think about what my passions would turn out to be, and little did I know that they would only expand upon what they were when I was just a child.

I think that days like this are things that you can’t imagine in advance. Nobody ever tells you to think about the seemingly simple days of life, when everything seems to go just right, you eat delicious food and you are productive, and you genuinely enjoy your company. Nobody seems to talk about the beauty in feeling so comfortable in your own moments that you feel just perfectly content right where you are.

And I think that is something this blog is here for–to talk about these days and these moments that often go unimagined or unremarked.

Today I am grateful for rest, for being content and for being relaxed. I am grateful for days like today when I am fully aware of what I am doing and I am fully happy to be where I am in these moments. And I know that it is okay to not always know where you are going, because you can’t get to where you want to go until you understand where you currently are. And sometimes it is just so wonderful to be able to truly taste this beautiful contentment of just being exactly in this moment. And that is something to be grateful for.

Leave a Reply

