Living Intentionally: It’s All About the Morning

Living Intentionally: It’s All About the Morning

Ahh…mornings. For some people, these are the worst times of the day: waking up early and having to start a long day of work. But for others, the morning is quite positive. It’s all about your mindset and intentions.

I begin almost every morning largely the same way. I wake up–on weekdays, usually around 7-7:30, on weekends, usually around 9-9:30–make myself a warm drink, and head to my bedroom to enjoy myself.

In the past, my mornings would consist of coffeecoffeecoffee (Any Gilmore fans out there?) and I found this to end the same way. By the afternoon, I would feel groggy, as though I needed a nap, and I would end up fueling my body with even more coffee. This wasn’t good, and ended up leading to indigestion issues, which is why I switched to tea.

This is my first tip for the morning: begin your day with the body’s best fuel–water!–before starting with your preferred fuel. And you have to choose what is best for you.

So after drinking my water and my tea, usually water before and then alternating, I will do some light reading or video watching. And I do this because it is what truly makes me happy. For the first 30-45 minutes after I wake up, I take my time doing the things that I know I enjoy, the things that make me happy. And this is absolutely imperative to having a good morning, in my books. By starting the day with what you love, the rest of you day can only be positive. Trust me.

My second tip is to go into your day knowing what you will be doing. For me, using a planner works best. I look at my to-do list and add some more items to it, and I sort out in my head exactly where I will be during large breaks in my schedule. By planning out my day, all my stresses become on the paper instead of in my head, and they largely disappear. It’s all about going into situations with a plan: this doesn’t have to be a rigid plan that you stick to. But if you have a general idea about how your day will look, then you eliminate the questioning of where you will be when, and you will be able to accomplish your tasks easier.

My third tip is to use this time to do something productive, if need be. I like to get some light studying done, read for a class, or start a homework assignment. By doing these things, I eliminate even more tasks from the day, even if it is just 30 minutes of work.

And that’s it! As you can see, I like to wake up and allow myself enough time to do these things before I get ready, do my makeup, and walk out the door on my day’s adventure. Having a morning like this is all about intention: what you put into the beginning of your day will impact the rest of it, so you should make intentional choices that reflect the attitude, productivity, and happiness you want to feel for the rest of the day. One more step to living intentionally and crafting your wonderful mindset.

I hope you gained some insight from this post, and I would love to hear your thoughts. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Living Intentionally: It’s All About the Morning

  1. I really like what you said about doing something you enjoy in the morning. As someone who, despite my own morning routine, usually associates mornings with tiredness and work, this sounds like a great way to get your day off to a positive start. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

