Day 43

Day 43

Today I woke up on the wrong side of the bed…and missed my alarm. I began the day in an absolute rush: Sabrina and I had plans to go to the library and start our day bright an early, and I completely overslept by half an hour and had to rush to get ready. Not fun.

For a person like me, who loves her mornings, this start to the day was awful. I really value my mornings; they are, quite honestly, the only time of the day when I feel like I can have time for 100% myself…no distractions, just me, my thoughts, my tea, and whatever else I feel like doing or thinking about. I love them. I wake up at least two hours before I have to be somewhere just so that I can have my morning time and start the day on the right foot. So to begin a day in a complete rush put me in a bad mood.

Not to mention the fact that I did not sleep well at all the night before: I was so stressed and so preoccupied with everything going on in school that I just let everything affect my mindset and bog me down.

But then, Sabrina gave me a sandwich she packed for me, we picked up some iced teas from the Arbor on campus, and we found a nice bright spot in the library.

And as I reflected, as I thanked Sabrina and drank my golden oolong, I realized something very, very important. Just because you do not start a day the way you want–just because things do not go as planned right from the beginning–that doesn’t mean you have to have a bad day. Not all is lost. And this little wake-up call (quite literally, haha) seemed to be what I needed to understand that.

I will still have my morning me-time. I will wake up tomorrow and start the day the way I want to. But if something happens and it doesn’t work out, that doesn’t mean I am having a bad day. It means I can move on.

Leave a Reply

