Living Intentionally: Patience

Living Intentionally: Patience

Within an hour after I woke up today, I felt such an urge to write this blog post. I have been reading and following SheIsCaptivating on Instagram for the past few weeks, and today while catching up on her words and captions I felt so inspired and compelled to write about the subject of patience.

I truly believe that we notice so much more in life when we are patient, we wait, and we slow down. There is something so magical about living life moment by moment and truly appreciating what we have in front of us. I think this appreciation can get lost sometimes, when we are so focused on what we want and we are so antsy about what we are waiting for that we lose sight of what we already have: the joy that comes with waiting for something wonderful, and the already-wonderful sights and sounds and moments that are already surrounding us constantly.

My entire life, I have always known the value of patience–and believe me when I say that I can be a very impatient person. But I think sometimes my impatience keeps me in check: it allows me to slow down, stop myself, and think, Wait a minute: I have such amazing things around me, let’s just take a breath and appreciate waiting. The saying “patience is a virtue” couldn’t be more true here.

I could give many examples to illustrate this point, but I will stick with one that I think a lot of readers could relate to. Let’s say you are very excited about an event or a trip coming up: you are so preoccupied with leaving where you are to get to where you want to be, you can’t stop thinking about what you are going to do when you get there, and nothing else in the present matters because you are so fixated on going-going-going.

Do you see anything wrong with this picture?

If we are so focused on getting somewhere else then what happens to the moments occurring daily up until the time we leave? They are still here, happening right in front of us, only we are too busy to notice or appreciate them. But just because you do not appreciate something, that doesn’t mean it goes away. It continues existing, you just don’t notice it.

Life is full of situations like these. If you’re like me, you can get so caught up in the idea of your future that you can forget how wonderful the present truly is. Or maybe you are impatient with little things, such as receiving a package in the mail or waiting on purchasing an awesome present for a loved one. If we wait for things and we enjoy the moments in between the present and what we are waiting for, life moves slower and we can learn to not take for granted every breath and song and sight the world has to offer.

Be patient: learn to love moments, the feeling of waiting, and the in-between. Because sometimes there is nothing sweeter than the beautiful rays of light shining through your window…only you may be too worried or preoccupied to notice them.

2 thoughts on “Living Intentionally: Patience

Leave a Reply

