Day 76

Day 76

Boy oh boy…do I have a lot to reflect on today.

Today I was being quite the little ungrateful one. It started out with getting disappointed about one small thing and then that led to being disappointed about even more things, and I just became so wrapped up in materialism and selfishness that I basically threw a fit.

You know those moments when you are just so annoyed that you become annoying and bratty and you just want to be annoying and bratty for a bit? That was me today. I don’t know what came over me, but the point is it happened and we have to move on.

But as Chris said, there is a lesson in this. There is a lesson in everything, we tell each other. And I think the purpose of writing today’s gratitude post is to work through my thoughts and write about what I believe that lesson is.

I think there is something to be said about being grateful for who we are and what we have in front of us. No amount of possessions makes you who you are, and your worth and value is not determined by how much or how little you have, or anything in between. And I think that today I got so caught up in the materialism that comes with the holiday season that I forgot for a little while what truly matters. I think that in a time of free shipping and in-store sales it can be so easy to thinkΒ about what we want and what we think we need. But in reality, we probably wouldn’t be thinking about these things nearly as much if we chose not to pay attention to any of it.

So tomorrow, I am going to try my hardest not to spend so much time thinking about how nice it would be to own this or wear that. Because at the end of the day what I own isn’t a reflection of who I am. How I behave and how I think, however, is.

Leave a Reply

