Day 89: 2016 Reflection and 2017 Actions

Day 89: 2016 Reflection and 2017 Actions

2016 was a really big year for me. While I have read a few blog posts on the year in review, I decided I wanted to write my reflection in my own way. So, here I go.

2016 was the year that I began in the country my boyfriend calls his second home. I ended my term as the editor of my school’s newspaper, I travelled to new places, I got an awesome internship at Morgan Stanley, I moved in with my boyfriend, and I began my last year of undergrad.

But 2016 was also the year that I realized something huge: it is 100% okay to not have your life completely figured out. But at the same time, it is 100% not okay to not be working to do something about it. That is, I believe that every day I should be working toward a goal. And while I don’t know exactly how my life, my career, my future is going to play out, I do know that I have a few goals that I am working toward, and just knowing that is more than fine with me.

I think my 2016 was my year to understand and try to figure out the world around me and what I want in life. And I think my 2017 will be the year that I continue wholeheartedly to put my thoughts into tangible actions. I am so excited for this.

In 2017 I will graduate college, and I am proud to say that I spent the last few weeks of 2016 applying for post-grad jobs. I feel that I am already starting off the year with the mindset that I am 100% capable of achieving anything I set my mind to. And I think that is a really awesome thing.

In 2017 I will leave the comfort of southern California suburbia, where I practically spent my whole life, for someplace new. And in 2017 I will be faced with so many challenges I have not had to face before.

But I will also carry with me the mindset and beliefs that I have held since my transition into mindful living that I began in 2016. I will continue to surround myself with those who uplift me and dissociate myself from those who don’t. I will continue to perform acts of service and kindness to others, including my closest friends and family. I will always work hard at everything I do, both academically and otherwise. And, in so many aspects of life, I will learn to both say yes to things and also to not take no for an answer.

And as I lie here in bed, at almost 11pm before it is even the new year on the west coast of the U.S., I still remain the same Bailee. Nothing has changed, my outlook is the same as it has been the past few months, and I don’t feel like a completely different person whatsoever. The world is still in the state it is in, there is still too much negativity and turmoil, and nothing will change overnight. Nothing changes with the new year. But if you try hard enough, you can continue to change, morph, rebalance, and reframe your mindset into something entirely more beneficial and worthwhile than before.

So I am going into this new year with prayer, with love, with positivity, and as the same person I was in 2016.

(And hopefully, a more confident person, at that.)

Leave a Reply

