Day 111

Day 111

Aside from going to the grocery store and picking up dinner yesterday evening, I can say that I spent the entire weekend at home.

It. was. awesome.

I spent yesterday doing homework while also finding time to procrastinate (lol, as if that is an actual necessity) and I spent today getting studying done, trying out a new chicken recipe in my slow cooker, and relaxing in between it all. And this was great! I can honestly declare this weekend to be amazing. Especially considering I spent last weekend in Vegas, this one was way more relaxing.

I think these past few days just confirmed my belief in rest time. Throughout my freshman year of college I thought it was so awesome to always be seeing people or doing things. But as the years went on, I came to understand that it is good to be alone, and being alone does not mean you have to be lonely. I cherish my early morning hours in the quietness of my apartment, with only the subtle steam of my tea and the comfort of my bedroom. I love that.

Spending time in my apartment here in Santa Barbara confirms even more how much I enjoy it here, but moreover, it confirms how home isn’t a place but a state of being. And I realize that no matter where I am, if I am able to spend moments in solitude and love my time to myself, I can feel at home.

Leave a Reply

