Day 115

Day 115

Today I learned how important it is to listen to yourself.

You only have one life; live it for you. If something is bothering you or doesn’t feel right, change it. At the same time, if something feels amazing and empowering, go after it. Always listen to yourself and do what YOU need to do.

Today I did all of my Chinese homework in one night, caught up with a couple old friends, and ate a delicious dinner. All these are great things! But I also got a little bit down, a little bit stressed…so I decided to take some action and change this. I emailed my thesis advisor, with whom I have a meeting scheduled for tomorrow, and asked if we can postpone the meeting until next week when I am feeling more prepared. I was so nervous to send this email on such short notice, but I felt in my heart that it was what I needed to do to make myself rest a little easier and feel a little better. I don’t know what he will say in response, but I do know that I feel better because of it.

Yes, I still have a lot of homework to do. I am behind on reading, I need to teach myself some vocabulary and some lessons from class, and I have a ton of writing to do. I am feeling pretty packed full of things I need to get done. But you know what? I know I can do them. And taking action to make myself feel better along the way will only help me accomplish everything.

Leave a Reply

