Day 134

Day 134

One of my favorite bloggers Cambria Joy (she is seriously amazing—check her out!) sent out a fantastic email today all about choosing freedom. 

She wrote that we need to stop looking at life as though we need to get through everything on our to-do list and the more we get done, the better we’ll feel. Instead, she said we should focus on getting the right things done.

“I want to remind you that you can make a decision right now to make the right choices. You don’t have to do this or do that. You just have to choose. Choose to set aside 1 hour to cook yourself a nourishing meal and enjoy it. Choose to go to bed at a regular hour instead of cramming in one more page of notes. Choose to wake up and read your Bible instead of scrolling through social media.” -Cambria Joy

When I read these words as a college student who is constantly choosing less sleep if it means I might get a better grade, I feel so much better. I admit, there are definitely times when I would rather stay up to try to get an A on a paper or study harder for a test than sleep. But if I am being honest, college has made me feel bad for getting a good amount of sleep sometimes…because usually if I am getting 7 or 8 hours of sleep, it means I am not studying as much.

But Cambria’s point goes back to so many things I have written on this blog before, things about living intentionally and the idea that there are enough hours in every day to do what we want and need to do, as long as we stick to our goals. Choosing to spend our time in ways what will nourish our minds, our bodies, and our souls is not a bad thing. And I think me choosing to wake up every morning to have some quiet time for myself and my spirit, and writing a blog post every night before bed, show that I truly agree that we can choose to make the right decisions for us, even if it means “sacrificing” something else.

A big part of life is figuring out what is important and what is not, even down to what we write on our to-do lists. Making mindful decisions is as simple as cooking a delicious meal and spending an hour with a loved one, putting the homework or the job on the back burner for a little bit. Choosing to do one thing over another does not mean the other task will never get done; it simply means that right now, making a decision for yourself is more important.

Leave a Reply

