Day 145

Day 145

I think sometimes it is so easy to misinterpret what others say, or interpret things correctly but take them to heart. And I think that this happens often with the ones we love! This is a habit I have with Chris sometimes (especially when I am PMSing…I know, I know, but I am human, after all). Sometimes it can be so easy to jump the gun and assume he meant one thing when he meant another, or to even take offense or read too much into his tone of voice.

But in reality, Chris always means well. Sure, he has times when he is attitude-y, like all of us do. But because I love him with all my heart, I know that he always means well, even if it doesn’t come out that way.

And I know that, even sometimes when I say things I shouldn’t or in a way that can be misinterpreted, he—and hopefully others whom I love—knows that I mean well, too.

Today I just about ranted for far too long about something so ridiculous. I am getting my eyes dilated tomorrow, much to my dismay, and I ranted about health and doctor visits to two people I am close to who are pre-med. They are pre-MED and I kept going on and on about how annoyed I am at doctors for being pushy. What?! Sure, I have my opinions, but I definitely took what I was saying too far to the point of being annoyed (and probably annoying, too). But you know what? They understood. Because they know that a) I probably didn’t mean everything I said, and b) I was really ranting and blowing off steam because I just don’t want to go to my appointment tomorrow.

The point I am trying to make here is this: sometimes, we can take what others say to heart, even if it is rude or annoying or possibly mean. But we can also choose to ignore it or understand that they probably are coming from a far different place than just the conversation at hand.

 

I am not sure if ANY of this made any sense, but this is like a journal anyway, so it is mostly for my stream of consciousness reflections rather than a coherent post. Still, if you made it this far, thanks for reading. xoxo

Leave a Reply

