Day 161

Day 161

I wanted to write a bit about seizing opportunities. When I got to college, I decided I wanted to be social, make friends, join clubs, and take advantage of any opportunity that came my way. I picked up odd jobs and threw myself into different hobbies or groups in order to figure out what I liked and build my resume. I knew that I wanted to get as much experience as I could while I was here.

Fast forward to senior year, and I still have that same mentality. I start a new internship in a little over a week, I am interviewing for post-grad jobs while finishing winter quarter, I am saving up my money so I can take myself on an amazing Disney World vacation with my boyfriend, and I am working a few hours a week as a writer in order to get the most that my minor has to offer. I am trying my best and hardest in order to kick butt so that I can be happy and succeed, both now and in the future.

There is a lot of value to saying no. I say no to going out on the weekends when I know I want to be home, to overcommitting myself to the newspaper I worked for last year, to working more than a few days a week, and (next quarter) to Friday classes. Saying no is completely and totally okay.  But it is also so amazing to say yes as often as you want to, because it means taking a chance on something that may or may not work out. I have learned (and I am still learning) to trust the process, enjoy the ride, and seize it all.

Leave a Reply

